The Elusive Mythical Manicorn

28 Mar

Have you ever heard this, “There are NO good guys left! Dammitall!”? I have, just yesterday after I accidentally drunk dialed a friend and then had to chat because I called HER and SHE was in a rut. A dreaded dating rut. We were cursing the universe for having spewed out the rumor that there are men with hearts of gold, chivalry, open the doors and actually are faithful. Suuure, we said, and I have a unicorn that craps rainbow cupcakes. And so we both poured another drink- at least I did- and flipped through our little black books of Men We Can No Longer Mention in search of the good guy…at least one elusive mythical unicorn, or manicorn as my BFF and I call them. We didn’t even use rainbow cupcakes as a qualifier because why stack the odds?

I happened to come up with a few- that work at the same place…Campus Advantage! Can you believe that? Yeah well, it’s true and I wouldn’t start blowing sunshine now. One stands out, his name is Dan. Tall, charming, funny, devastatingly good looking…you know, like me but a manicorn. Here’s how he is not like me: genuinely nice, caring, has a filter, really cares bout the greater good (I care about my greater shoe closet) and he will drop what he is doing and help you. Pick you up, dust you off, carry you a while should you require it, set you squarely on your feet and crawl or walk along with you until you get your shit together. Dan has done this for me. Dan was a Honey Badger Press fan before there was a Honey Badger Press. Every idea I came up (opening a real estate brokerage, being a singer, writer, bum in a bikini, MBA candidate, writer again) he always cheered on and gave me a giant list of reasons I could kick ass at it followed by a sincere, “How can I help you?”. He is still my go to tech guru. I have seen him do it for many other people I happen to care about…and some I don’t…another thing he excels at: selflessness.  So here he is, doing something for others again and I feel all guilty because the only thing I can think about is my fabulous new hand bag I am not allowed to touch until I clean my closet-room-office.

So Honey Badgers, this is me pitching in ( no the world is not ending) and giving a little something back to Dan.  One of my favorite people ever in the entire universe and beyond . Help a brotha’ out and go give a “Like” to his FaceBook Page and/or some $. They have a goal to reach..so give a little or a lot or a Like to help spread the word (a Like is free). Because who doesn’t want cancer to disappear like a (insert your favorite monster’s or frenemy’s name here). And also because I was all braggy about how many bitches I have on this site (10K of you a day and 4.6K on Facebook) and how you guys are awesome….if just half of you gave $1 and a Like he’ll be winning in a tiger- blood- lottery-epic- kind of way!

Then he was like, “Great! Then put your $ were your mouth is and share me”… D’oh!
Challenge accepted.
Go show some fierce Honey badger Love and tell him I sent ya.
Do not make me look like an ass, M’kay??
We’ll see who is gangsta now, Dan!
………………………………………

Then & Now..Make Dan Bald. 'Cause he looks all preppy- gangsta bald!

First of all, I must say that I am a proud lurker and fan of HBP. Thanks to Cat for asking me to share this with all of you and ask you for some help.

When I was 19 or 20, I shaved my head. At the time, I was a competitive kickboxer & martial artist and I thought it made me look tough. 15 years later, I am getting ready to shave my head for another fight, but this time, my fight isn’t in the ring.

I am raising money to help fight cancer. My company is a national corporate partner with Relay for Life, and I have challenged my staff to raise $50,000 by June 10. At that point, some of my team members are going to pull out the clippers during a national training in Austin, TX.

Please help me go bald!

Relay for Life is a powerful event that remembers love ones lost, celebrates and honors survivors, and fights back against cancer. Please watch the video below and consider donating to this amazing cause. Whether you can donate $5 or $500, you are making an impact and making a difference.

Donate here: http://main.acsevents.org/goto/dano

Like us on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/carelayforlife

Follow on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/danoltersdorf

Check out this video about Relay:

4 Responses to “The Elusive Mythical Manicorn”

  1. Giggles April 4, 2012 at 2:59 PM #

    Can we be friends? i don’t think i have ever read anything so funny and completely honest. Do you write for anything else, bc this blog in now my new favorite, and i cannot stop telling all my girlfriends about it! Thanks SOOOO much.

    • Honey Badger Press April 4, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

      Awww- thanks, Girly! Of course we can be bitches!
      I have a couple of butt hurt books in the works and I ghost write.
      So happy to have you here!!!

      • Giggles April 4, 2012 at 5:35 PM #

        well, let us know when we can pre-order! OXOX

  2. Jennifer Cassidy March 28, 2012 at 5:01 PM #

    Couldn’t agree more!! Dan is the man and an inspiration to many. The American Cancer Society Relay is such a worthy cause too.

Comments are closed.

